TPO 54

I strongly agree with governments spending more money on arts. Actually, arts is beneficial to everyone directly. Plus, the history of a country or society is mostly formed by its arts not by its athletics. Besides, economically it seems more logical to spend money where most people benefit. So, in my opinion arts is in priority.

To commence, different groups of people benefit from art improvement in a society. Imagine a painting class. All students no matter they are adults or children, can progress both artistically and socially. Furthermore, if the paintings produced are put in some exhibitions, then some others will enjoy looking at them. When I was a child, I attended painting, pottery, and calligraphy classes from which I learned so much. In fact I grew up in art classes. On the other hand, if athletics are strongly supported, only few people who are athletes could improve physically and others could only enjoy watching competitions. So spending money on arts can be useful to great numbers of people.

Secondly, when arts mirror a society's culture and point of view. In ancient societies such as Rome and Egypt, the most crucial remains that represent their culture are the paintings, statues, and buildings which are all sort of arts. By focusing on artistic abilities, a society can patent its culture and view point in future.

The third reason which is the most important one is that spending money on different styles of arts such as painting, sculpture, calligraphy, graphic design, and handcrafts is far more economical than giving that money to athletes to practice more and make better records. Thus, if economic issues are to be concerned, arts is in priority.

To sum up, from where I stand, I would rather governments spend more money on arts especially art classes for the public than offering more money to athletes. It's mainly because much more people benefit from arts. Besides, arts play an important role in the country's history, and it’s even economically more logical.