The extended family(grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

It goes without saying that, we live in an age when although the population on the earth is grown compared to past time, the size of families is dwindled. This is because of differences in the lifestyle of two mentioned periods. The structure of living in the ancient time was based on agriculture which required the whole family members endeavor. Hence, having an extended family contributed to having extra power, wealth and reputation. Oppositely, nowadays the size of family is not appreciably a deciding factor. They have been proposed some other elements for qualifying whether a family is prospered or not, including: the level of education, adherence to the law and nobility.

Furthermore, unlike the past, the family income does not come from arm force which automatically acts as a hinder agent to have extra offspring. Enlarging the household equals with addition in demands. Indeed, yet the parents bears the expenses of children to almost being mature, whereas before 20th century children supported family from financial aspects since infantile time.

In addition, the hectic life caused to have less opportunity to being in close contact with our distant relatives. This ensue to choose the solitude and avoid from gathering and celebrate frequently, issues that cherished once by extended families.

Following the previous contents, restricting relations to borders of siblings (sibling range), implies limiting our pleasures which can be attain nowhere else. Suppose one getting ill or falling in to trouble, in that time our relatives would be the first and the best companions. Some sociologists believes that emerge of technological and scientific advancements have brought special features for our relationships substitution, features like social media.

All things considered, changing living habits and interests provokes parents to be reluctant for childbearing. Children rather than undertaking family responsibility, themselves is going to become a part of problems. Adding this not having enough time for spending visiting distant relatives as well as having other recreations, consequences fall the importance of extended family.