Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams

When it comes to the argument of whether governments should support the arts or athletics, it has been long discussed. I believe governments should spend more money on athletics. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, governments can gain reputation by sporting athletics. In the modern-day, sports have already been an important part of our daily lives. There are lots of different sports events such as NBA or MLB and Olympics. If the athletics who have been funded by their country's government, have done great jobs during the game, it will not only brings honors to the country but also gain a reputation for the government. For instance, two years ago, our country's government had started a project to sponsor the Olympic athletics. The government provides a monthly salary and lots of expensive equipment for them to train. Because of the support from the government, every athletics has been well trained and maintains an excellent physical condition. As a result, they win a lot of gold metals at the Olympics and bring honor to the country. Moreover, the fans of athletics including athletics itself vote for the government in the next election because of the funding for sports.

In addition, facilities for training athletics are more expensive than the arts. Doing art usually just needs some easy and cheap working tools such as a pen or painting board. However, training athletics needs a lot of costly equipment and even requires hiring a coach. Therefore, athletics are more needed to obtain help from governments. I am a compelling example of this idea. I like to play basketball and I am recently joining in the city's basketball team. In order to win the game, we need to practice every day after work and there are a variety of costs we need to spend on training, including renting a basketball field, hiring training coach and health insurance just in case we have injured during the games. However, our government has supported us by paying the salary for the coach and supplying extra equipment for practice so we do not need to worry about the cost of training. If the government does not offer money, we might not able to pay for such a large number of expenses.

In conclusion, I strongly believe instead of supporting the arts, governments should sponsor athletics. This is because governments can gain reputation and athletics are more needed to be supported