I disagree that all university students should be asked to take history class.

Firstly, History courses would put more academic pressure on students. College students have to study many courses and their schedule is very tight. For example, a economics student not only have to finish his professional papers for his credit, but also he needs to find the part-time job to get social experience. His pressure is so heavy that he could not afford to take any courses, such as history. School should not require students to learn this course, because students would worry whether they could finish their homework on time and what should they do to pass final exam.

Secondly, history course will lead more financial pressure to parents. As we all know, university tuition is usually too expensive to afford and it is different from the middle school tuition which has government subsidies. For instance, in order to encourage everyone to study, the middle school students’ parents only need to spend 30% of the tuition and the government will pay the rest tuition. However, university tuition should parents pay all with themselves, the government will not help parents to pay for some tuition. Only college tuition is unaffordable for many parents. If school requires students to have a new history course, it will make a lot of students cannot continue to study in university.

Admittedly, taking history class could let students to learn new knowledge and widen their vision. For example, students learn the history of the world war, they can know the harm of war and the advantage of peace. It will lead students to cherish the peaceful life. Nevertheless, new knowledge could be acquired by other ways, such as history TV programs and history books, even from parents. Those ways also can help students to learn about history.

In conclusion, I think it is unnecessary for all major students to take history course.