Imagine you could improve the town where you live by changing one important thing about it. Which of the following would you choose to do?

Build additional parks

Construct more libraries

Improve public transportation

Cities need constant improvements in many fields. People prioritize one project over another, like building recreational spaces, increasing public libraries, or improving transportation. I would choose to enhance the government transportation system over other options. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the essay.

First of all, public transportation reduces the air and noise pollution in the city. We all face the hazardous smell of gas and the constant honking of vehicles in the street. Gas particles which emit from the combustion engine of cars are insidious. It affects our lungs and brains and causes diseases as extreme as cancer. The sound of horns also leads to migraine pain which ultimately leads to depression. In contrast, public transport is a highly efficient way of transportation. Fuel consumption per person for subway and buses is meager in comparison to private vehicles. The noise almost leads to zero. My personal example is a compelling argument for this. A few years back, I lived in Austin, where people usually prefer to use private cars. Every day, I used to stuck in traffic. As a result, gases and noises started affecting my health. Consequently, my health deteriorated. On medical advice, I moved to Delaware, where most people use public transport, and the city is very much free from noise and air pollutants. As a result, my health condition improved significantly.

Second, Investment in public transport leads to a better economy for the citizen. Public transportation is much cheaper than the private one. Improved public transport infrastructure provides more opportunities to marginalized and poor people of the society. They might not be able to open a shop or get a job in the far area from their locality due to the cost of private vehicles. However, enhance infrastructure enables people to pursue economic opportunities without considering the distance. For example, I once rejected a better job offer because it was very far from my home. The only private cabs could reach there. Due to cost consideration, I was not able to pursue my best interest. Now that place is connected to the city metro line. If I got an offer from there, I would accept it.

Third, Improving public transport leads to having better family relations and bonds. Public transport like subway and city buses aren't struck in regular city traffic. These have a dedicated lane in the roads which reduces the transportation time significantly. People commuting hours reduction leads to more time available to everyone. This gain in time means people spend more time with their friends and family. Their bondings with one another improve. For example, When my dad switched from cab to subway. It results in the reduction of half an hour in commute. Hence we used to have more time in the evening. We used to go for an evening walk in the nearest park. This made our bond stronger.

In conclusion, Enhancing the Infrastructure is the one project which I would prefer over other suggestions. This is because it reduces air pollution, makes the economy better, and improves people's personal lives.