In general, people are living longer now. Which of the following do you think accounts for this phenomenon?

In Modern times people's life expectancy has risen sharply. People credit different factors like advancement in technology, the shift in education policy, and the healthier diets. I would give significant credit to our improvement in technology. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the essay.

First of all, the drastic improvement in communication methods enables the reach of quality medical facilities to the last person of the country. Earlier, the only way a villager can get severe treatment is by reaching the city's hospital. However, due to poverty and distance, patients mostly missed the early phase of disease treatment. Only after getting in a bad phase, people used to rush city's hospital. In contrast, with the help of video conferencing, a villager can get treatment in their primary hospital by the city's doctor. In addition, a patient's lab reports can be sent via the internet to a doctor. Thus, the doctor can closely monitor the patient's condition. My personal example is a compelling example of this. My aunt started to feel the throught pain few months back. She was treated it casually and took general medicine for pain. However, Nurse at primary hospital asked her to set an appointment to doctor for video-confrence treatment as she was reluctant to go to city hospital due to cost involvment. Finally, doctor asked her to take few lab tests. After that those reports were send via internet. Doctor identified she is in early stage of cancer. So with the help of technology we were able to detect a cancer in early stage. If video-conferencing had'nt been available, she would had suffered with deadly consequences.

Second, Advancement medical technology now made possible to treat the disease who were once consided untreatable. Now we have made progress in theraputic drugs and vaccine technology. People died in past generations from deadly diseases like polio and small-pox. However, as we made progress in vaccine technology. We have developed a vaccine for these fatal infections. As a result, many of viruses has now been eradicated from earth and not even a single person is now sufferning from the diseaes. For Instance, Malaria is one of the deadly disease which was raging havoc around worl in mid-half of the last centuary. As the diseases carieer was mosqitos. Only option at that time people had to try not to come contact to mosquitoes. But once infected, there was nothing to save a patients. Consequently, Hundreds of people died by the disease. However, In the last decade of the last century, Doctors came up with the vaccine for it. Thus after few years, the vaccine removed the lethal effect of diseases. In the process saved millions of lives.

Third, technology now provided a better medium to connect with friend and family which leads to less mental problems in society. Previously the only way to connect with people was to send a post and then wait for their reply. This whole process was time taking which was in between days to weeks. People who where away from home, started to develop loneliness. Loneliness is one of the main cause of depression and other mental health problems. Nowadays with the help of social media and video calls, communication has become so much easy. People can instantly connect with friends and family. For example, I am now living away from my home for my undergrad. At starting, I felt homesick. However, when I started to use Facebook and other social media apps. Suddenly the feeling of loneliness fades away. As a result, I become much happier, and my mental state improves.

In conclusion, I would choose the progress in the tech sector as one of the main reasons for improving the population's living age. This is because technology has become easier to reach villages to give the best medical treatment; progress in medical fields has made many diseases non-dangerous, and it makes communication easy with loved ones.