It is important to keep old friends than to make new ones.

There's a saying that '' Old is Gold'', and I quite agree with this saying. I love to make new friends but, old friends are like gold and are hard to discard. I however, agree with the above statement, that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

One reason why old friends are very important to keep, is since they understand me better than any new friend I have right now or might have in the future. For example, my old friends rarely criticize me because they have spent a longer time with me and in that process, they have gotten to know me better. They know my likes and dislikes, my interests and are used to my behaviour or attitude towards certain things.

Although, I have met some new interesting people I would like to be friends with but, I still find it a little bit difficult to be free around them. My old friends are easy and fun to be with and they don't scrutinize like a new friend would. I remember my action towards a new friend once, it was something I hoped would be funny and would show my amazing sense of humour, but unfortunately it ended up being an embarrassment to her.

Mostly, old friends are reliable and are always there when you need them. Also, they offer brilliant advice since they are well informed about the kind of person one is or might be. A year ago, an old friend of allowed me to move in with him in his house when I was stranded, and this enabled me think and come up with a strategy that got me my own space and in no time, I was back on my feet again.

Given the foregoing, it is important to note that making new friends is good and increases our social abilities but, it is more important to keep old friends, they will always be a support system when you need one.