It is important to visit museums in order to learn about a country.

Some people might argue that it is important to visit museums in order to learn about a country, because you can look through the history of that country. For example, you can see some artifacts related to the birth of the nation or objects about some historically important events so that you learn a little about the country. However, I disagree with the idea for two reasons.

First and foremost, every museum has its own purpose and intention, so it’s disputable to learn about the country from it. In other words, what you see in the museum may not neutral facts about the country, so that it could make some misunderstanding after visiting the museum. For example, the British Museum is internationally famous for its huge scale and loads of exhibits but it is also well known that a large portion of them are from other countries. Although the collections were taken by the English people through historic process, it is hard to say that you understand the United Kingdom by visiting the museum.

Secondly, learning from museums has some limitations in the way that it’s not interactive process. You have to interpret or understand after seeing collections in the museum. In this sense, communicating with people in the country might be more important than just going to museums. Also seeing and interacting with people who live in the country could be more fun way to understand the country. Actually, looking around a museum might be boring to some people. Therefore, going to markets, restaurants or squares and seeing how the people in the country live is more exciting and effective way to understand the country.

To sum up, visiting museums is one of the way to understand the country, but it tends to lack neutrality and fun. Considering its limitations interacting with the nation’s people would be more important to understand the country.