It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends

Apart from family, friends are an important integral part of our lives. In the journey of life we keep making new friends in addition to our older ones. Personally, I feel old friends are always by our sides, come whatever may, and I have elaborated more on this in the following essay.

To begin with, old friends are no different from family. They are always by your side. Specially when you are far away from your home country , it’s just good close friends that can substitute your family. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I went to New York to pursue my schooling, I was very nervous and anxious. I was a freshman and I felt homesick quite often. I made couple of new friends, but everybody out there was busy in their own lives. I had nobody to share things with or probably go out to make myself feel better, so that I don’t miss home. To my surprise, I had my old school friend from my home country living in the same city now. I was’nt much in touch with her and I just called her to tell her about my feelings in this new place. She came all the way, to my school and took me to her apartment. She took me around the place, made me feel more comfortable to the new city , cooked some traditional food for me, and whenever I felt sick she took me to a doctor as well. All this made me realize that old friends are just the best and no matter what comes they would always be by your side.

Secondly, old friends would always give you true advice. We often get stuck up between choices and don’t know what to do. At the same time many of our friends give us possible solutions, but we don’t know whom to trust and believe. This has happened with me a lot of times, when people give suggestions for their own selfish reasons. One such example is my friend Annie. She has been my best friend since childhood. She was an extremely brilliant student, always excelled in her studies. After her tenth grade, she got an opportunity to work with the school professor for a research paper. This would have been a great oppurtutinty for her. The only thing was she had to take extra time for this research work , and she practiced basketball after classes. Her friends at school convinced her to deny to the professor for the research work , and play basketball with them. Although I advised her to do her research , but she went ahead and refused the professor. Down the line, all the students who helped the professor with the research got an opportunity to visit entire Europe, as a part of their field trip, free of cost. In addition, this experience was added to their profiles and it helped them to get jobs easily with an international experience. This clearly illustrates that your old friends know you and want the best out of you, without any selfish perspective.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is always better to keep your old friends apart from making new ones. Old friends are there by your side as strong as your family, and also guide you always through the right path.