Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts in the world. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the good habits is visiting art galleries because people can absorb many knowledge in art, especially history or culture about countries. Some comments believe that art galleries need to focus on their own country's works; however, I strongly advocate that other countries' pieces should be displayed in each gallery.

To begin with, if art galleries supply artworks in many different countries, citizens can have a chance to increase their understanding of foreign works. This means that humans can have a broad view of how humans have created a masterpiece in the past until now. For example, Leonardo da Vinci, a famous artist in the past, if art galleries focus on their own national artworks, their citizens will lack knowledge about one of the best Italian artists. Besides that, true art enthusiasts will criticize galleries that do not supply enough artworks they need, which will lower the ranking of the galleries.

Another bad effect that the citizen could receive when galleries show artworks about the history and culture of their own country is that people will not have a wide range of perspectives. This implies that, with one picture, people in America will have different viewpoints compared with Vietnamese. Take, VietNam 30/4/1975 as an example, VietNam liberated the independence of South Vietnam from the American government. With the Vietnamese, it marked a transition to unify the country; however, with American, it marked a defeat and withdrew all military troops and many American and Vietnamese residents in the south at that time back to America. From this instance, we can assume that different perspectives can supply humans with different views, which can be the most important in art history and culture.

All things considered, art galleries that focus on their country's own history and culture can be considered good galleries. However, supply citizens with a wider perspective and other masterpieces from different people.