Should governments make decisions about people's lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

One of the major tasks of the government is that the government has to keep the country organized and peaceful. Some people believe that the government should intervene in people's way of life by making decisions on behalf of their residents. I half agree with this statement because this method has both advantages and drawbacks which I will list below.

To begin with, the government can control the country better with strategy. As the most powerful organization in the country, the government always wants good things for its citizens. This means that the government will suggest what the citizens should do so as to benefit their life. Not all people are literate enough to be well-behaved or polite with others; therefore, through laws, the government is likely to adjust citizens’ behaviors or manners for a good purpose. Furthermore, with this process, the government can prevent people who have a tendency to do bad behavior such as robbing or killing people. So that, forming a citizen's lifestyle in a long term can effectively form a society without criminals.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned benefits, there is a downside when the government controls people’s lifestyles. It is unjust for citizens who have a good attribute to follow the government rule due to some bad pattern in society. If people cannot live the life they want, they might not develop all of their potentials. For example, normally people can develop their potential by experiencing many different challenging cases; however, due to government rules of lifestyle, they might not find and reach their potential. This means that people cannot become their best version although they might. Even more serious is that the government can receive some opposition from people who are not satisfied with the rules. This could deteriorate the governmental organizations making them unmanageable.

In conclusion, forming a good lifestyle for citizens is a good move. Nevertheless, sometimes the government should place itself in the citizens’ perspective.