Parents should allow children to make their own choices rather than determine their children’s future for them.

It has always been a common problem for parents and children to have different opinions, no matter in the past or at the moment. And the problem of letting children make their own choices for their future development or their parents determine their future for them has come into our mind. Some people may agree that it’s better to let their parents to determine their future for them. But I still strongly agree with that it’s better for us to make our own choices.

To begin, we had to admit that children may get more information about the direction of future development, so they can keep pace with the society. Our world is changing dramatically in a hasty manner. Children may have more ways to get information than their parents, they know the fashion and the trend of future. But their parents may lack of new information. This time, children’s choices in determining what they would like to learn is more reasonable. Take my brother, Fred, as an example, he’s a strong-minded guy, so when he meets situations that need his choices, he could give a choice immediately and tell his parents about the reason because he almost knows everything about what happened around the world. So two years ago when he was choosing his major, he predicted Computer Science will become the trend several years later. Now his prediction has already been proved. In conclusion, the idea of children can get more information is still reasonable.

Secondly, children know what they really like or interested in, but parents may choose the pace that they want their children do. As an old saying goes, “Interest is the best teacher.” When their parents asked them to do or learn one major, but they don’t interest in it at all, they will have the sense of rebel. This time, even they finally did that choice, they won’t achieve huge achievements because they are not, even be not good at that thing. How do they strive to learn it? Everyone knows Steven Jobs, he’s just a perfect example to illustrate this idea. When he was in his childhood, he has a strong weariness of learning. He usually plays truant and take his friends to a garage, his laboratory, instead of study at school. When his mother knows about that, she prevents him but he still trying to do his own things. Several years later, he established Apple. All in all, I strongly agree that making choices by ourselves is important even necessary.

From what has been discussed above, I can draw a conclusion that no matter in the past or at now, our parents should give us the right to make choices by ourselves.