Parents should allow children to make their own choices rather  than determine their children’s future for them.

As the pressure of people’s lives is becoming more and more immense, parents tend to be mindful of their children’s future and some even determine their children’s future for them. The parents argue that this is helpful for their children. In my view, parents should allow children to make their own choices.

First, each person has his own idea about himself and so do children. The one who knows us better than anyone in the world are ourselves. Much as the parents understand their children, after all they are not their children and they do not know what their children exactly think. Therefore, children could make choices which are most suitable for them instead of their parents. Furthermore, once the choice has been made, it is not feasible to correct it sometimes. So, allowing children to make the choices which are most appropriate for them is of paramount importance. For instance, I have a cousin, he has a gift in physics and he thinks it couldn’t be better for him to study physics in the university. Nonetheless, his parents thought that he should study economics and forced him for he could find jobs with higher salaries. As a result, he did not so well as his parents thought and his parents regretted their decision as well. None of this would happen if his parents allow him to make his own choice.

Second, since children have their own mind, they may be rebellious when compelling them to conform their parents’ choices towards their future. Since they have the rebellious psychology, they probably not do what their parents want them to do, they may do what against to their parents even they do not have this idea originally just for the sake of rebelling instead and this is especially harmful to children’s development. In addition, when they were forced to do something that does not follow his heart, even though they complied reluctantly at that time, they might not conform permanently. Moreover, the rebellious psychology has a detrimental influence on the relationship between children and parents as it can disintegrate children’s affection towards their parents gradually which may result something vicious.

In conclusion, everyone deserves the right to determine his future on his own and so do children. They need to be allowed to make choices by their inclinations freely rather than being determined by their parents. Finally, parents can never be their children, thus allowing children themselves, who know them best, to make choices could be better.