In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Whereas some people think that it is difficult today to choose our future career, others do not believe so. Personally, I strongly disagree that the past offered more opportunities to find a secure and successful job. I am of this opinion for two reasons which I will examine in the following essay.

First and foremost, the whole range of information that we gain from numerous media was for sure not available times before. Nowadays, there are obviously publishments about research papers, articles on Internet, newspapers, magazines or even TV shows. Consequently, we have the chance to be informed consciously and unconsciously for career possibilities that can result on success and professional growth. In contrast, in the past, I hardly do believe that any of these canals have existed. For example, my grandmother has told me that when she was in my age, she started her career as a tailer because her mother learned her how to sew even though a few years later, the demand for tailored clothes began to decrease. It was the time when clothing shops were opening everywhere. Moreover, she also told me that the same thing has happened to the majority of her friends. Hence, they had not the opportunity to choose by themselves their career or to inform about it before. As a result, the lack of information led them to an unsuccessful professional life.

Secondly, the actual market offers us a plethora of advantages to find a secure job based on the fact that we can work in various places until we find the perfect one where we feel we have the ability and skills to perform well. For instance, If I had to choose If I am more capable to work in a bank or to open an accounting office on my own, I would primarily try the first option. Thus, if I see that I can not grow professionally on this area, I would immediately start preparing for the other alternative. Not only self- identification, but contrary to the past, career centers also help us by offering career programs, services and consults.

In conclusion, I support the view that it is easier today rather than in the past to find the appropriate career. This is because now we are surrounded by different kind of information and more beneficial services that help us gain a better understanding about future job market. As a result, we have the ability to gain broad, in- depth knowledge about every job and workplace.