The Positive Effect of Movies and Television on Young People

Perhaps no subject in the world is as likely to cause so much controversy as debate on the impact of media on behaviour of young people does. An issue in dispute is that wheteher movies and television programs have positive effect on society. Some poeple advocate that media negatively affects the young group, while opponents suggest vice versa. In my opinion movies and television have more positive effects on the way young people behave for two reasons.

First and foremost, media facilitate the flow of information, so, it provides means of conveying important ideas, valuable norms, and essential value to the young people. For example, I was born in Iran. A country in middle east with a totalitearn religious regime which systematically censors the truth about its governace and phenomenons all over the world. for instance there is nothing in official science books about the theory of evolution because in Islam the emergencee thoery is supported, so the evolution theory which states humans are decendants of other animals are undermined, and the thory that hummans were brought to earth due to their misbehaviour in heavons for eaing the prohibited fruit is advocated. Howeve, I saw a documentary on darwin and his earth shaking book The Origind of Species and it changed my whole view on how life change through time. I've learned a great deal about mechanism of natural selection and how this notion is an alternative to the justification that we have a intelligence creator called God. Therefore, having access to media and television programs can inform pepole about many valuable information about the science, technology, and the world and change their perspectice by casting light on areas that they never heard of it before. That's why I endorse the fact that media have an overall positive effect on young people.

Second, Movies and television provide cultural material for large sum of people with neligible cost. Before their invention only a few rich and elite people had the access to arts or science like plays, books, sculptures, poems and etc. In contrast, nowdays we can see abundant programrams that supply us with arts like variety of kinds of movies and musics that are played through television programs. For instance, there is a program in our national tv about iranian music that broadcasts every friday. So, I tend to learn a great deal about out cultural legacy, when our music was originated, what kind of diffrent musics are available in Iran, what is the diffrence between Iranian music and western music, how the educaton of music changed over the course of time, what were the factors that inhibit the growth of music in Iran, how the conflict between Islam and music faded away and etc. In conclusion, these examples obviously illustrate how movies and television programs can induce possitive effects on the mind and behaviour of people, young ones included.

From what has been discussed above, one can reach a conclusion that due to the facilitating impact of media on flow of information and the fact that movies and tv programs provide cultural material for the mass, the positive effect of them outweigh their negative impacts. Finally, I suggest governments should introduce incentives to promote high quality programs for the people of society.