Providing students with grades promotes learning

Some people think it stimulates for student to learn by providing them with scores. However, in my opinion, although it could motivate students to study, it is just temporary effect, so giving them grades is not a good idea since they could get a lot of stress and have less time to do what they want.

First, it is very stressful to offer students grades. The scores they get make them feel good or bad and it is not good for their learning. They study just to get higher score, not to learn something new. If students get low grades although they studied enough hard to get high ones, they feel very frustrated and don’t want to study anymore. For instance, according to a study done by the New York Times, it revealed that when students are in a system there is no score, they enjoy studying and learn something new harder. The research that was done between students who have both of the experiences provided them with score and not indicated that 90% of the students said giving scores to them discouraged to study and was very stressful. Hence, it reveals that it is bad to offer students grades due to growing students’ stress discouraging them to study.

Also, providing students with scores doesn’t give them any opportunities to study something they want. There is no time to study another thing except studying for some tests. In addition, they learn only what will be on tests, so it is not good for their lives. For example, my friend who attended a high school that gave students grades only studied textbooks to get high scores on tests. So, she hasn’t experienced a lot of things like joining clubs, reading books and so on. Then, she became a person of passive and a lack of creativity.

To sum up, giving students grades is disadvantageous to promote learning to them because of getting a lot of stress and no chance to do what they want. In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is bad to offer students grades to stimulate them to study.