The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

In modern society, there exist a variety of rules for young people to follow or comply with. However, in my point of view, I believe those rules are kind of meaningless and too strict for them. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, young people are expected to find a high-paying job. Every parent wants their kids to become a doctor or engineer because those occupations are high-status in the modern world and they usually have a good salary. However, young people might not interest in those kinds of careers but their parents will still give high expectations which makes them feel stress and helpless. One of my friends is a compelling example of this idea, he was really good at dancing since he was young. He felt free and relax when he follows the music with his dance move and he even joined a popular dance crew in the town. They had won lots of competitions and my friend was well known by lots of dancers due to his excellent performance during the dance battle. However, his mother wanted him to become a programming engineer like his father so she banned him from dancing after he attended high school. My friend was so frustrated since then, he cannot even focus on his studies in school and skipped classes. As a result, now he is twenty-five years old but he is still unemployed and playing computer games every day. If his mother supported his dancing, he might already become a professional dancer instead of staying home all day.

In addition, societies expect young people to respect the olds. Young people have been educated to respect old people in public such as giving up the seats for them on buses or trains. Nevertheless, some old people will take it for granted and being mad when the teenagers do not do it. For instance, two years ago, when I was on a bus, my stomach hurt so much that I can barely stand by my feet, so I decided to sit down in order to alleviate my pain. However, an old man came to me and forced me to gave him the seat. I told him I had a stomachache but he did not believe and blame me in front of every people. Eventually, I walked away and stand by the window. I felt so sad and mad about what I had experienced and it is all because of society's expectation toward young people.

In conclusion, I strongly believe the rules for young people are useless and strict. This is because societies often expect young people to find a high-paying job and respecting old people.