Some cities think that a way to limit pollution and congestion is to tax drivers heavily who drive into the city each day but who live elsewhere. What do you think about this policy? Do you support it? Why or why not? Use specific reasons.

I have a contrasting view point with respect to the statement that to limit pollution and congestion is to tax drivers heavily who are not from the city. There are following reason for my belief:

Firstly, Property prices in the city are sky high and it is not possible for an average salaried people to buy house in the city, so, they purchase property in countryside; also some people don't like city lifestyle and want to be close to nature also opted to live outside the city. These people do daily up down to their offices which is mostly in downtown area, if we tax these people then companies will see an increment in resigning rate of employees, as paying taxes will decrease the saving of the employees and they will try to take job near their houses.

Secondly, countryside has only necessary shops but for purchasing other items people have to come to city, if the tax were imposed then people will not come frequently to the city and decrement in the market footfall will be observed which is not at good for either business owner or government. Also, the travelers who come to visit from another country usually rent cars to explore the places around, but due to imposed taxes, they will be motivated to skip that city, which result in less foreign currency reserve which ultimately affect country GDP.

Suppose, if the business capital New York city will imposed tax then the revenue of city ultimately decrease as property in the city is not affordable, mostly the New York income come from business and the recessive footfall will impact business owners.

To conclude, its better to not impose tax on drivers heavily who are not from the city and to decrease pollution government should try to focus on implementing circular economy rather then eliminating cars from the road and hi-tech road infrastructure will decrease congestion.