Some people show their emotions, while other people work hard to keep their emotions from showing. What are the advantages of each type of behavior? Which do you try to do?

Many different people walk on this Earth, and each one of them has experienced many kinds of emotions. However, there are two categories of people : those who show their feelings, and those who don’t. As a person who belongs to the latter category, and knows a lot about keeping her emotions to herself, i can only discuss the behavior of people who show their emotions based on my observations and experiences.

Some people when being overwhelmed with emotions choose to open up and show the way they feel to those around them. And there are, indeed, some benefits of this type of behavior. First of all, if you are full of emotions sharing them with others can make you feel at ease, because you wouldn’t have to carry the weight of the emotions on your own. Second of all, showing your emotions can help other people understand you better. People around you who know how you feel would be able to act accordingly. For instance, if you showed that you feel down , they would try to cheer you up; if you showed that you were happy, they would understand and celebrate with you. I have observed this type of behavior from my friend. As an example, i remember once my friend started acting very strange and trying to distance herself from me. I couldn’t understand her at all, no matter what i tried to do. However, a few weeks later she opened up and showed me that she was really depressed, which not only helped me understand her better, but also made her feel better.

Despite these benefits of showing your emotions, i believe that not showing your emotions is always more helpful. First of all, if you have a problem that causes you the emotion, it is good not to show anyone how you feel, because it will help you deal with the problem easier. And since nobody will be aware of it, you will have an opportunity to solve the problem faster and without having to explain others why is it happening, which could make you focus on the feelings rather than on the solutions. Second of all, if you don’t show your emotions, other people will not be burdened and concerned for you. For instance, i am a very sensitive person and i sometimes feel extremely sad. But i know that if i were to tell my family and friends what i feel , they would be concerned and worried about me and that would make them feel bad as well.

After all, although there are some good benefits coming from showing the way you feel to people, i still prefer trying my best to keep them hidden from the public eye. I believe that this type of behavior is the best for me and suits my personality the best. Thus, i will continue not showing my emotions to those around me.