Students could recieve a better, more effecient education if they spend 11 months a year studying.

Some might think that making students learn for 11 months in a year will increase efficiency in learning, but I do not think so for two reasons. One is that students will be tired after 11 months, and the other is that the best education doesn't come from school.

To begin with, no single person can withhold 11 straight months of learning. A normal school year lasts 8 months, and an extra 3 months cut from vacation will make students restless. For example, if one lets a teacher work 50 hours a week, the teacher will be tired and quit the job. The teacher hardly resists the temptation to get some rest, and therefore, the efficiency will be not higher but lower. A teacher who can work for 30 hours a week instead of 40 hours will be more energetic and efficient in teaching. Therefore, he will have better results than the other teacher who works for 50 hours a week. This same rule also applies to what a programmer does. Sitting in front of a computer for a tiring 10 hours per day, the programmer could not possibly avoid a single bug in the program. He will become absent-minded and slack off. Similarly, a student working for more than the normal school year will become exhausted and inefficient to such an unreasonable argument.

Secondly, knowledge comes from every single part of life from playing games to chatting, not just school alone. What's more, the knowledge harvested from communication with others is more important than the math and English learned in school. For example, life’s morals can be learned from witnessing heroic acts, and it is not at all similar to the stories heard in school. Once I met an orphan in Shanghai. He was very positive and wore a smile on his face every day. We talked often, and he was never angry, no matter what happened. There's a saying that goes, “what you hear from others is fake, and what you see with your own eyes is true." What is heard in school is fake, but what is seen is true. Education in school is not so important, but lessons learned in the outside world are.

For the reasons mentioned above, there is no logical reason for schools to shorten vacations to 1 month. I would encourage students to rest and return to a new semester, more engaged and rejuvenated.