TOEFL essay: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Games are as important for adults as they are for children. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a shadow of doubt, games, the joyness of human's life, have been attached great importance and even sparks off intense debate over whether they are as crucial for grown-ups as they are for young generations. Once talking about games, in numerous people's opinion, they are perceived as pure entertainment for kids who only cares about enjoying life. Contrary to these people's viewpoint is my perspective that games are important for adults as well, due to their benefits of stress releasing and skill building.

What's must be prioritized is that games are one of the greatest methods of stress management, mainly as a consequence of enjoyment. When playing games, players will be so engaging that they can easily forget and distract themselves from the stress received daily. Additionally, playing games with family and friends can further make you feel comfortable and relaxed. This is best demonstrated by my personal experience. When I was in high school, I was always so stressed about the college entrance examinations that I couldn’t be focused in classes neither fell asleep before 1:00 am. Therefore, I tried to seek help from my friends, my seniors, and even therapists about my issues and those thoughts. However, neither of them succeeded to drag me out of trouble. Accidentally, one day after class, I saw an advertisement page of game in Facebook called ROV, a kind of team play game, which seemed like fun and engaging. As I was so desperate at that time, so I gave it a try. After spending some time playing this game, it turned out that magically my worries and concerns were gone because of the enjoyable feeling by playing this mobile game.

What equally worth discussing is that not only provide entertainment, playing games can be also helpful to learn some useful skills. Nowadays where the world has become more globally connected, thus, second or even a third language is required for youngsters to perform well in their career and benefits in a long term. In my view, playing games is an efficient way to learn new languages. To explain further, rather than reading textbooks or memorizing vocabularies in flashcards, playing games in mobile phone is fun and entertaining by the immerse visual and listening experience brought by the modern technologies. For instance, there’s a mobile game called EZ language, where in this game, I’m able to remember a bunch of new Chinese characters and phrasal words in 15 minutes due to its user-friendly interface, well-designed quizzes as well as theme of cartoon movies. All of this provided me a very enjoyable learning experience which horned my skills in Chinese to prepare me for the upcoming interviews of a Chinese company.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that games are as beneficial for adults compared with kids . This is because games are not only benefiting adults with entertainment and joyfulness but more importantly the significant advantages of relieving stress and developing skills.