TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Considering that universities and colleges are meant for educational purpose, I don't agree with the view that sports and social activities are the same important as the classes.

Of course, it's nice to demonstrate not only high grades but something in addition to it, for example, to be gifted in some of the sports. But this option goes as a second, supplementary one, it should not become a major one because the main purpose to attend the university is to gain the knowledges in selected field. Hence, all financial support should go for the main purpose which is education, not a football game. Treating of the sport as such type of major means that individual is just in wrong school.

The degree which school issues in the end gives some certain level of assurance that individual received needed knowledges and proved that passing the exams. When sportive achievements receive same level of importance in parallel with academic subjects it makes the whole educational system concerned as it's not clear anymore if someone with the law school degree is a good lower or a gifted soccer player.

Of course, participation in sport or social activities is very important part of development of a students as a personalities, and variety of such classes should be there together with financial support. But it would be plain wrong to give them same importance as to main activities - subject related classes. And each student should understand that not to loose the focus in the studying process and not to forget what was the purpose to attend the university.

To support these statements I have an actual example: a friend of mine was studying in the university which had a brilliant soccer team, which was well known among other colleges and universities, and every student was proud of it. Then the financing was needed in the middle of the season and management decided to spend a funds for the library regular maintenance on the team's needs. Team won the season, it was announced everywhere on local media, and university gained the popularity and seemed to be attractive for new applicants. But at the same time, the lack of budget for the library caused the deficit of books which made students to study together using one book, for some of them the shortage cause the delay in deadlines and lower marks. As a result of this abnormal situation substantial percent of students of second and find years of study shifted to different colleges. And such a massive move out affected the college statistics as well and resulted in few pints rating decrease. This story shoes what happens when the focus is lost and priority goes to side activities instead of main ones.

Summarizing all above said, I'd say that despite the importance of social activities and sports for student's lives, main priority should remain with core activities which are studies, and studies, and studies because people attend the universities for the functional knowledges and degrees, and not for a spending a pleasant time which of course should be there as well but only on supplemental basis.