TPO 33:

Agree/Disagree: When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, students will learn much more effectively than ask them to do alone.

There is no doubt that projects play a key role in human beings' life as they are a credible source of learning. Teachers adopt various methods to teach students how to manage their time, learn efficiently, and in turn, prepare themselves for their future life. Views differ when it comes to the issue of whether students should work together toward an assigned project or not. Although some people may hold the idea of working independently on a project, I firmly believe that working on projects as a group is more efficient. Because not only will students learn how to cooperate with other people effectively to provide themselves with a promising future, but also they will have more time to specialize in a particular aspect of the project which is assigned to them.

The first reason coming to my mind in the first place is that working collaboratively is more effective because it will help students future. To be more specific, most companies are interested in hiring those people who have experienced teamwork. This is due to the increasing need of doing projects which have become more complicated than they were in past. That is, these kinds of projects entail them to work across different aspects of projects in alliance with others simultaneously. To illustrate, suppose a computer science student who has recently graduated from his university. After graduation, he probably wants to apply for prospective job positions which are offered by IT (i.e. Information Technology) companies. It is crystal clear that if the applicant does not meet the companies' requirement, he will fail in negotiating with it. So, in order to have a promising future career, students had better prepare themselves at schools working collaboratively and then at an appropriate time, apply for job positions.

The second reason which also deserves some words is that by carrying out projects with the help of other students, students will provide themselves with an opportunity to increase their knowledge in a specific aspect of a project. To clarify more, there is notion named "division of labor" by which team leaders can adopt to produce beneficial results out of a project. In this process, manifold activities are broken down into different tasks and then these tasks are assigned to team members. During this process, project managers can easily monitor the progression of the project. Moreover, because team members are supposed to deliver their assigned task in a limited amount of time, they can plan to complete that task. Additionally, they will find more time to learn more and more about the backbone idea of the assigned task and this will, in turn, provide them with an opportunity to develop new techniques to end up the project successfully.

In the final analysis, it is my deep belief that working on projects as a whole has numerous advantages due to the aforementioned reasons including providing a promising future especially prospective career opportunities, and also grabbing more time and opportunities to explore the underlying concepts behind the project more deeply. It is high time we stopped overlooking the fact that teaching students how to work cooperatively will benefit our society in almost every aspect.