TPO 51

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Movies and television are big parts of our lives nowadays. People of all age have their favorite movies and tv shows. they are affecting their audience in various ways, especially young ones, and unfortunately mostly in a bad way.

First of all, violence became very common on both movies and television. People in these use different kinds of weapons, different kinds of methods to kill each other. They do this without emotions, without mercy. On screen, murdering looks very easy; no hesitations, no police around, everyone has guns. All of these can motivate young people towards using violence to solve their problems.

Secondly, sexuality is being presented without intimacy or privacy. As they learn from the movies, young people don't pay attention to the emotional part of it. Relations which should stay between the couples only, being exposed to everyone, thus bringing down all the moral rules of the society.

Thirdly, many protagonists and antagonists drink, smoke, and use illicit drugs. Even though their avoidance on screen wouldn't look realistic, we cannot deny the attraction they are causing among young people. Lots of them want to look like these "cool" people on movies, or merely out of curiosity they are trying many kinds of unhealthy products, and intoxicating themselves.

As conclusion, television and movies have more negative effects than positive effects on younger individuals, and we should treat them with caution.