Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?

In general, praising or punishing a child directly seems to be the most effective strategy as parents say. There may be several reasons for this; It is the easiest way to react to an action, no matter it is about the school grades or behavioral problems. Besides, there's no need for any special training and therefore it does not cost much. But in long-term, there are some side effects which most parents are not aware of.

Most people assume side effects to be related to punishments but actually praising a child so directly results in a new form of punishment which is lack of praise. If children get used to being offered money or presents for whatever preferable thing they do, They would feel depressed when they are not praised. Also they will become conditional. They can no more distinguish what is good to do and what is not. The only thing that helps them understand whether what they have done is wrong or right, is whether they get punishment or presents afterwards. They will lose the ability to find wrong and right things independently which may result in many disorders when they grow up.

Offering a school-age child money for each high mark is just a good example. Such students may never find internal motivations for studying and may never understand why everyone tries to get high marks in exams, even though they themselves are trying to do so. Parents may think offering money may help their children be more successful but in reality, their children will be good students until they find some other attractive work to do. Unfortunately, not all attractive activities are beneficial to the society and since such a teenager is not capable of distinguishing right and wrong due to his parents' behavior, he may do useless or dangerous things to both himself and the society.

As a whole, if one day I become a mother, I will never offer money to my children because of school marks.