TPO50-speaking.Task2-Some people like having a wide variety of friends and acquaintances they can spend time with. Others like to spend most of their free time with the same small group of close friends. Which do you prefer? Explain why.

In recent years, the whole world has been changing astronomically at the speed of light with the advent of novel ideas and state-of-the-art technologies. Hence, the vivid contrast between the role of intimate friends and strangers has become more visible. When it comes to my stance, by weighing up the pros and cons, as people say "old friends and old wine and old gold are best", I completely hold that lasting friendship brings about mutual understanding and trust which are obviously important to people that I will elaborate on the following by giving two main rationales.

First and foremost, the prime reason why I am of such a belief is that being friends for a long time makes the relationships even stronger than a family because loyalty only can be built as time passes within people who have known each other, which is why old friends have affected our characters and subsequently making decisions. What I mean is that close friends are ones who provide us with a sense of belonging and confident. Ergo, more times we tell them our secrets, concerns and whatever we could not tell anyone even our parents.

By the same token, another paramount reason that must be cataloged here is that - Thanks to the Internet era - social media can be used to facilitate making friends that assist people to widen their circle of friends based on their interests and personalities. Indeed, these situations cause people to assume wrongly, having so many virtual and passing friends is much more important than the deep of friendships simply because values ​​have been changing in every society. Hence, in spite of the fact that none of these relationships is profound. Accordingly, as studies have proven that possessing trustful old friends who might be your primary choice to ask favor or companion is definitely wealthier than having virtual and passing ones, apart from their number which does not matter and benefit.

In conclusion, according to the aforementioned reasons, I totally concur with the initial statement and as an optimistic person believe that It is better to be in chains with friends than to be in a garden with strangers. To sum up, having discussed the rationales, I am of the opinion that having friendships which are kept for a long time even a few ones are much more profitable and valuable vis-à-vis temporary relationships.