Travel is important for personal development.

People usually spend their vacation either to relax or visit different places in order to get out of work routine. Personally, I believe that traveling helps to improve some weakness and to be a better person. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, traveling to another country is an opportunity to learn the local language of the place you are visiting. In addition to this, there is the chance to meet other people and to know the regional culture. My own experience is a compelling of this. I have been in Germany three years ago to visit my sister. She told me that I could find the language hard to understand and people could treat me in a way that I was not used to it. However, I prepared myself and I have studied for six months in order to learn the basic language and the region’s culture which my sister lives, so when I got there I was able to understand the main topics were being discussed in any place and to communicate clearly with few mistakes.

Secondly, traveling increases the level of responsibility. To clarify, when you leave your home to go to an unknown destination, you need to pay more attention to several details. You always need to check your documents, mainly the passport; to check the time of flights or trains and be aware to not spend more money. For instance, when my mom traveled for the first time alone, she missed her international flight. Besides that, she forgot her luggage at the airport when she was coming back to home. It was definitely a nightmare for her, but instead of giving up, she paid more attention to the details of every trip she would have. As a result, my mother improved her responsability and she usually travels alone every year with no problem.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that traveling develops people. This is because you learn other languages and cultures and you get your level of responsibility to a higher level.