It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Most of the time, we are encouraged to make new friends since it can expand our circles of friends and help us become more sociable. As far as I am concerned, I totally accede to this opinion because making sincere new friends is difficult. Besides, I lean toward to cherish my old friends since they understand me better.

Primarily, making new friends can be a touch process. For some people, making news friends can be a piece of cake since they may define friends as all new people they have met. But in my definition, friends are those who share their thoughts in their minds. They can share their secrets without any barrier. Therefore, making such friends can be difficult. Nowadays, most people are interes-related which means they care much about self-insterest. If you do anything that might bear the potential to jeopardize their interests, they can do anything to defend their interests. What I have experienced can fully illustrate my point. Several months before, I met a nice guy in the gym. I usually jog with him in the morning and we often have breakfast together. But one day I forgot my purse so I asked him to pay for me. What really disappointed me was that he rejected it immediately, claiming that the meal was too expensive. From then on, I discontinued to jogging with him because he had never treated me as a friend. Hence, from what I have went through, we can prove how difficult it is to make sincere friends.

Secondly, our old friends understand us better. From the moment when our friendship was build to now, we and our old friends must go through a lot together. We might used to play basketball together, help to relieve your burden when you are too stressed out, assuage you when you have experienced something formidable. It is because of these that we begin to know each other better, including our habits, personalities, they way we use to deal with others and so on. But new friends can never penetrate that deeply into our hearts. Therefore, since our old friends can understand us such perfectly, why not keep our old friends.

Last but not least, trying to maintain the old friendship means how much you value the friendship. If we do not cherish the friendship, we will probably lose the friendship. A prerequisite of a stable friendship is that we and our friends are all supposed to committed to the friendship and put it at high value. To do this, every detail in our lives matter. For instance, when your friend needs some help, you should always be the first one to come and assist me. In that way, both your friends and you can benefit from each other.

In conclusion, old friends tend to understand us better compared to new friends. What's more, sincere new friends are hard to obtain. Instead of starting a new friendship, why not insist in the old friendship.