Which is more important for a school? To buy new equipment or hire famous teachers.

Some people think that buying new equipment is more crucial for a school, while others claim that hiring well-known lecturers is more essential. For me, I believe that hiring famous teachers is more important. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, universities focus on reputation, and seeking high-quality professors helps them procure a good reputation. For example, my college once hired 25 researchers from National Taiwan Research Institution, which is the most prestigious research center in Taiwan. These researchers published uncountable papers and research results in famous journals like IEEE. Thus, after my university brought these intelligent educators into campus, my college became exceptionally reputable in the academic field. On the other hand, my brother's university spent more than fifty million dollars purchasing equipment for the nuclear laboratory, but most students feel repulsive about having nuclear research institutions inside their campus. So apparently, spending money on hiring high-quality educators helps a university gain a more favorable image.

In addition, universities are usually concerned about budgets, but spending money on various equipment might make them waste too much money. Take my friend's university as an example. My friend's college once spent 4000 million dollars updating equipment in the gym. To be more specific, the school replaced mechanical treadmills and weight-lifting equipment with intelligent and electrical ones. Nevertheless, most students prefer studying in dorms to exercising in the gym. That is, the gym is usually empty, so students complained that their school wasted too much money on things they didn't request for. On the contrary, my university only spent 4 million dollars recruiting famous lecturers. So evidently, hiring good teachers costs less than purchasing equipment.

Last but not least, schools must emphasize students' grade, and hiring well-known instructors help them acquire better grades. Take my cousin's school as an example. My cousin's middle school managed to find famous cram-school English teachers to tutor its students. The well-known and well-educated instructors use mnemonic phrases to aid students in better memorizing English vocabulary. As a result, most students' English scores enhanced dramatically. Contrarily, my niece's high school bought English textbooks and brochures for pupils to study. Yet, students cannot memorize them easily since no one guided them on how to learn new vocabulary efficiently. Eventually, her school's average English score did not improve.

In conclusion, I maintain that hiring famous teachers is more vital for school because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.