Your friend plans to reduce his living expense. He has following three options

1. Find a roommate to share the room to reduce costs

2. Buy fewer expensive electronic devices, like smart phones

3. Cook more at home (buy fewer expensive food items and not go to restaurants

which do you recommend? Why?

Facing with heavy inflation which increases the cost of living, an increasing number of people make a decisions to cut the their living budget: Some people choose to curtail the expense for housing; some people prefer to cut down expenses of electronic products; some people are predisposed to reduce the expense for food. From my perspective, budget cuts on electronic devices is a desirable option.

First, finding another roommate won’t reduce the living expense at all. Granted, the rent for an apartment can be reduced since another one can share the bills paid for the fixed rent cost. However, other fees can be created when a new roommate move to the house: another roommate will also use the kitchens or bathrooms in their routine life, which might double the fees for electricity or water. Meanwhile, the money paid for daily maintenance will also be increased. All these fees will easily cancel out the saved rent cost.

Second, the budget won’t be cut down by cooking more at home. Granted, purchasing ingredients and then processing them at home can save money since usually the price of food bought in restaurants is higher than the raw materials, including operating cost and processing cost. However, simply buying less expensive items will cause some healthy problems, which might create another spending. In fact, cheaper food ingredients are less healthier than other expensive ingredients and thus people who consume them are more likely to have healthy problems, like obesity, diabetes, etc. As a result, they tend to get some medicine or medical treatments, which can cost them heavily. In this case, the saved money can be canceled out.

Compared with the two former options, spending less money on electronic devices is more viable and effective in reducing the expense. As a matter of fact, the electronic devices keep updated quickly, which can impose a heavy economic burden on people who desire to buy many of them. Additionally, those latest devices are not indispensable to our daily life in that the services brought by them are almost the same as those old and cheaper electronic products. Take Apple, a company that produces electronic devices as an example, Apple always updates their products quickly, putting the newest version of Iphone every year. As those products are put on sales, they are costly since oceans of people are fanatical about it, which drag their price to rise. If people always pay for those latest versions of Iphone, they have to bear the high price as well as the heavy economic burden on their budget. However, despite the lighter weight and charming appearances, the services provided by the latest version of Iphone resemble the former version of Iphone and smart phones of other brands which are much cheaper. In this case, keeping old phones and purchasing other less money-consuming phones can help to save money considerably while does not exert an influence on people’s life.

In conclusion, in terms of how to curtail the living expense, buying less expensive electronic products should be prioritized.