The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

Wildlife protection is a widely discussed topic of modern times. While some people believe that building zoos are a good way to save animals, others maintain that restricting animals in a confined area is detrimental to their well-being. This essay will discuss why a zoo is generally harmful to animals and, therefore, it should be banned.

When an animal is brought to a zoo, it is highly possible that its quality of life is compromised drastically. In most often cases, the wild animal will be locked in a cage or deep trench, which will eventually make the animal sick. Studies show that mortality rates of many animals in zoos and safari parks are very much higher than those living in natural environments like forests. This indicates that zoos are harmful to the life of animals.

Despite the evident hardships of caged animals, some people think that zoos serve the purpose of protecting wildlife species under threat of extinction. But what they don’t understand is that the population of animals in zoos is negligible compared to the wildlife population in natural habitats. Under these circumstances, there is no reason to believe that zoos will protect any animal species from possible extinction. It is clear that zoos do not serve any help in protecting animal rights.

This essay discussed how animals are ill-treated in exhibition parks and caged areas. In my opinion, zoos are not serving any good purpose in protecting wildlife and hence, they should be banned.