A competitive environment in school and university would bring excellence and need to be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this time there is constant competition among humans at all levels of life. Some people argue that involving students in competition level will bring the best out of them at school and university level. This essay will discuss how this argument is incorrect.

To begin with, students at educational institutes compete for better grades only because they are assessed at the end of their course by exams. In this case students only compete to excel in examinations rather than focusing on learning new ideas. For example, while studying at university students think only about the exams as the top companies hire students with excellent results especially when job fair is held at the university campus. Hence, learning is affected by competition.

Secondly, competitive environment develops individualism in students instead of collectivism. Being involved in competition, students think about themselves only as they need to get ahead of their peers. For example, a student with good concepts might not help other students in order to get better grades than him. Therefore, good ideas or concepts cannot be shared with others which will not bring excellent results.

In conclusion, competitive atmosphere in educational institutes affects learning of new ideas and develops individualism in students. In my opinion, this kind of environment should not be should be discouraged at all educational levels.