In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life.

To what extent do you agree?

It is nowadays common to have single-sex schools and co-educational schools. While some people believe that boys and girls should have separate schools, others maintain that both sexes should study together in the same classroom. This essay will discuss why the idea of having exclusive schools for boys and girls can be detrimental.

School life has a profound impact on how moral character of a student is built. When a person spends twelve years of education exclusively with the same sex, it is highly possible that the person will become insensitive to the needs of opposite sex. Eventually, this can make students self-centered and, therefore, face significant challenges in adulthood. Students from single-sex schools may find it difficult to mingle with other students when they go to major universities, which will be a disadvantage for them later in the life.

Despite the inevitable need for co-education, some people think that single-sex schools are more disciplined. But what they don't understand is that violations of the rules are reported from every educational institution in the world. Statistics show that the number of disciplinary punishments in single-sex school is significantly higher than co-educational schools. Under these circumstances, there is no reason to think that single-sex schools are better than co-educational schools.

This essay discussed how single-sex school can have negative effects on moral character building of students. In my opinion, co-educational schools are better for the long-term well-being of children.