Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion? Support it with personal examples.

Being a parent comes to a great sense of responsibilities towards the child. It is the duty of every parent to discipline their children. Parents are their children’s first mentor, role model or teacher so in my view, should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. Under the law, parents are entitled to monitor and educate their children on what is right and wrong, individually or socially. But it is also a moral and human duty.

Parents should be aware of their children acts or actions. It is quite often that a child can cause harm to someone whether intentionally or unintentionally, in that case, it should be the responsibility of parent towards the other person. Even if the harm is accidental, the consequences can vary from minor to serious. It costs a hefty amount to the victim like in property damage or theft cases. If the child is minor or is not financially supported, then parents are to be held liable to pay for their child’s act. For example, my brother accidentally injured a classmate so my parents compensated the family with his medical bills.

Some people are of the view that it is the child who should be held responsible for their own acts or actions. Though we can not expect parents to present with their child all day long but it is they who have raised their children and infused them with good or bad moral ethics. So for exercising improper supervision and bad control over their children, parents should be held legally responsible, especially when they are not teaching good attitude to their children and encouraging bad conduct. “Positive parenting” should be encouraged and rewarded.