Television has two roles: to inform and to entertain. Explain which of these roles you see as more important. To what extent do you think that TV today performs each of these roles in an effective way? Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Since the beginning of the 21st century, the role of the television in humans lives has changed a lot. Some people believe that the main role of the television is to transfer news, while others argue that the main role of the television has changed dramatically since the beginning of the 21st century, and most people are watching their televisions to entertain. This essay will discuss how the role of television has been altered from informing news to entertain people.

People these days watch televisions to have fun rather than to obtain news. People prefer obtaining news from the internet these days, thus, using the television is for entertaining. Recent research, which was conducted in USA, has shown that 90% of American people use their televisions to have fun, they prefer watching National Geographic rather than watching Fox News. Therefore, it seems clear that television has become a source for entertainment, and subsequently, using it to observe news has become negligible.

These days, people are working for longer hours, so, at the end of working day, they prefer watching a comedy movie rather than to listen to disgusting news. Relaxation could be obtained through laying down on the couch and in front of television. Recent study, which was conducted in UK, has shown that 96% of British people are looking to watch drama on their televisions rather than watching some news. Thus, the major role of the television is to entertain.

In conclusion, this essay discussed why people are choosing watching their televisions for entertainment rather than watching news. Working for longer hours and attractive programs are the major factors. In my opinion, television offers a wide variety of programs which could be more beneficial than watching a boring news.