The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This memorandum is claimimg that they are giving more time to national news than weather and local news, and that is why the advertising company are retracting their contract with them which eventually causing a loss for them. Though the argument is well stated, but as it is based on some logical fallicies so the decision taken by the company may not be proved to be a success in future. Let me show some evidences why the argument will fall apart.

First of all, the argument is assuming that they are losing their contract for their faults - focusing on a specific side which is on national issue. But, there is no such evidence that this is happening due to their faults and for that they are comparing their previous condition with present time. For instances, may be their previous management provide better platform for the advertising company to promote their product and now the management is change and they do not provide the previous same space for the advertising company. Had the argument provide such valid reason why the are losing the contract then it will be a more acceptable one.

Secondly, another vague assumption is that some people compaints are for weather and local news. Again, there is no such clear number how many people are complaing ad are these related to only weather and local news?. For example, if 10 people call the company to make complain about weather and local news do not actually make a sense. Because, these 10 people may be combined to 1 percentage of the total views which again is not enough to believe that this assumption is right. If the argument provide more information about the complain, then it will be a good assumption.

Finally, the agrument is considering only the local business advertising revenues only and does not mention any other information regarding advertising. What if news advertising for national news are increasing, and in that case the overall profit may be on the rise. Which eventually makes this national news decision a right one.

In sum, as the above argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions, it will not be a good idea to consider the decision for future planning.