A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Literacy and education of the people of a nation are one of the two main important factors that lead to the progress and development of a country. The given prompt recommends that all students should have a fixed national level curriculum until they pursue their further education in colleges and institutes of higher studies. I agree with the suggestion due to the two reasons explained below.

Firstly, the singular, structured and unified curriculum helps in standardizing the education process throughout the nation. This helps in easier logistics in exam conduction, fair grading and distribution of results. For example, if students all across a vast nation take up varied subjects which they want to pursue, this would make it a herculean task for the management bodies to conduct examinations and grading in a fair and transparent manner. Further, assigning faculties to such varied courses is also an additional problem. The choice once given to the students, can create a wide disparity in the frequency distribution of the pupils taking different subjects. For example, there would be a class with 100 students and one with merely 10. It would make it difficult to deliver rich, relevant content in a framework with such variation. Hence, having a systematic and uniform study plan for all students is beneficial in maintaining the everyday logistics of education and learning.

Secondly, it is prudent that all students should have a minimum required knowledge of the basic subjects whose applications we encounter in our daily life. Subjects like Mathematics, English, History, Geography, Economics form the basis of a pupil's education. Even though someone does not want to do a PHD in higher math nor become a chief economist in a large financial institution by studying complicated economic theory, it is beneficial to grasp the basic understanding of such fundamental subjects to have a well-rounded education. For example, learning English literature helps us communication and portray our ideas better, history teaches us about our ancestors, the accomplishments or mistakes they made, and Geography teaches us about our entire world and environment at large. Without the knowledge of these subjects, it nearly impossible to achieve a holistic education.

Though I concede, that the choice and interest of the student also plays a vital importance in the process of learning. If someone doesn't like a topic or subject, eventually he or she would start detesting it and this aversion might even take effect on the subjects in the curriculum they are deeply interested in. But at such an early stage in a person's educational journey, before entering college, just studying the subjects we have interest in narrow's our scope. By taking a wide range of different courses , experiencing and experimenting on them, may give out results that we did not expect and we might start liking a subject which we initially thought that it isn't for us.

Therefore, due to the above discussed points I agree that a nation as a whole should encourage and require all students to take a certain set of varied courses before they step into their college where based on their interest from these previously studied courses, they can decide with certainty, what they want to study and in what field want to make their bright careers in future.