"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, they should initiate and actively promote online degree programs. The author have come to this conclusion based on the increment of number of students in online degree programs at Omni University.However, this recommendation depends on three assumptions which need to be examined first.

First of all, the author assumes that Humana University and Omni University are comparable. In other words, the circumtances of one university can be used to make generalization and prediction about the other. It is possible that the education system in Omni university is better than Humana university. This can cause more student enrollment in Omni university. Furthermore, maybe Omni University has higher rank than Humana university which can attract many international students. If either of these scenarios has merit, the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it is assumed that online programs will cause more student enrollment. It can be possible most students don't enroll in Humana university because the percentage of getting decent job after graduation is not up to the mark. Getting decent job after graduation is the most important factor for a student. Maybe, the alumni network is not as big as the other universities. Networking is one of the most crucial factor for getting a decent job. If either of these is true,then the argument doesn't hold water.

Thirdly, the author assumes that online programs will help in budget deficit.

Even though expenditures for dormitory and classroom space may decrease, the other expenditures may increase. It is possible, the instructor has not enough skills to teach via online classroom. Training might be needed for the instructors. Furthermore, many students don't feel comfortable on online programs. This may lead to far less enrollment in Humana University and more budget deficit.If either of these scenarios has merit, the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion,the argument is considerably flawed due to it's reliance on several assumptions. If the assumptions prove unwarranted the argument will seriously fall apart.