Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement claims that major cities must receive the financial support they need in order to thrive as it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated. Surely major cities plays a great role in preserving culture and traditions as they are main attraction of many tourists and international students.

Generally most of the tradional festivals are celebrated grandly in cities and people from all over the country comes to attend it. These kind of festivals also attract tourists in those cities. This way the traditions of a country reach to the people of all over the world. Gatherings of so many people of different backgrounds plays an important role in preserving and generating cultural traditions. For the arrangement of these type of festivals, the cities may need financial support from the government.

Moreover, most of the well-known educational institutes and corporate companies are located in cities. Many international students comes for education in major cities. Some of them start working after finishing their studies. They get used to the local cultures and exchange their views with others. Without the help of government financial support, the cities may not be able to maintain it's high ranked companies and educational institutes.

Even though the cities play major roles in preserving cultural traditions, the rural areas also have some unique cultural traditions. In some countries, there are traditions that can only be found in rural areas. Day by day, those traditions are fading away. In order to preserve these tradions financial support is needed in rural areas too.

Every nation has their unique cultural traditions. If they are not taken care of ,there is a possobility they might fade away.The government must ensure any kind of support that is needed to keep their own unique cultural traditions alive.