Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.

The letter given to the editor of the West Lansburg News says the west lansburg council should not allow the roads to be built. This is based on the premise that the neighboring Eastern Carpenteria had a similar sanctuary and they had seen a decline as soon as the sanctuary was repealed. At first the argument may sound logical and true. But there are several facts which requires more evidence in order to validate the argument. Here are 3 evidences which are needed to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, The west Lansburg sanctuary is compared with the neighboring Eastern Carpenteria by saying the latter had a similar sanctuary. There is no evidence given about how they are similar. What are the facts or points that make it similar?, Are the habitat of both the sanctuary the same?. Answering to such questions will give enough evidence about the similarity between the sanctuaries. There may be a possibility that west lansburg santuary is far better than its neighboring one so building roads near West Lansburg would not repeal the sanctuary.

Secondly, The letter says ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhogonce numbered in millions. How much ancient these records are? , Are the records true ? , By whom where these records given was that a valid source on whom we can trust? . What are the current counts of the tufted groundhog?. There are so many points whose answers are not given. Giving answers to these questions will Strengthen the arguments. There can be a possibility that the records recorded at that time are fallcy. There must be a proper source of the record. There can also be a possibility that current count of the tufted groudhog is nill which will help building roads easily.

Lastly, The letter says to preserve the regions biodiversity and to ensure healthy environment roads should not be built on West Lansburg. Not building roads is not the only way to preserve the biodiversity of the regions. In order to preserve the biodiversity there can be many other way such as Shifting the sanctuary to some more better place where the sanctuary is safe. As there can be a possibility that building that road could save time of many people travelling and in order to preseve the biodiversity and environment different methods can be taken.

In conclusion, As now the argument given is full of flaws. Several bits of the given argument needs to be validated, as more evidence is required in order to strengthn the argument like - 1)Details should be provided in order to justify how the two sanctuaries are similar, 2) Ancient records that are mentioned in the argument needs to be validated for its truthness and 3) To preseve the biodiversity and to ensure healthly environment different options should be given rather than not building roads. More options are required in order to preserve the biodiversity.