Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

The argument implying a proposal to approach profit decline problem by reducing operating cost. While it may be effective to some extent, the basis of this proposal is not fault proof at all. Storeowners assuming this as panacea to their profit problem but it may not work according to their sanguine desire due to lack of pragmatic analysis and evidences.

To begin, their preference of reducing operating time over raising price is praiseworthy at some point whereas, reducing operating cost only will not regain the profit. They should take account to other possible source of their costing while minting the previous operating hour. If they close their store earlier, the number of people who visit at late hour may decline and will resulting further profit loss.

Additionally, the argument also stated that store-owner was not agreed to raise price because of their famousness of low price. However, they did not present any record of happening where raising price due to logical reason might harm the reputation and general people were showing rage to that kind of action. It may happen that raising price to a particular limit does not affect the number of client at the same time it may contribute to profit incensement.

To strengthen their logic on the behalf of reducing operating cost by reducing operating hour, the storeowner cited their downtown Mastron store as evidence where they reduced store’s operating time. It will be a foolhardy decision if they want to do same for rest of the stores. People, their preference, environment and lifestyle differ place to place. The people visiting Mastron store will differ from other people who are the visitor of the other store. One business policy appropriate for one locale may not be effective for other, furthermore it may bring out counterproductive result. Adoption of Mastron store strategies for other store may reduce the profit.

With all the assumption, the owner also made an extra faulty assumption that not maintain inventory and record will reduce their cost. As people were not complaining in a previous similar case, they were hopping that people will show the same kind of attitude in future also. So they were not going to keep record of any which is of more than five years back. This will not contribute greatly because people may search old record for keeping in their archive. If this is true, then keeping older record in the store would increase the profit.

Finally, the store owner decisions are right to some extent but they should evaluate above stated assumption and need to conduct a market analysis before imposing any policy to ensure their profit increment.