"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

If the television company returns to their previous state by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news , they will regain their viewer's compliance and the contracts the had the contracts with local business and it's the argument here.

Before expecting the success of this memorandum some evidences are required to be evaluated.

First of all , the information about area coverage of the television station should be gathered to evaluate the basis of the complains of the viewer's . Are the complains coming from most of there areas the station cover? If so then they would stick with their memorandum and decision and might attract more viewers by devoting to weather and local news to its former level.

They also need to find out all the reasons of decreased interest of the viewers. Perhaps they are not interested because the program is telecast-ed at late night which is actually sleeping hour. Local businesses might show interest if they telecast earlier and the news is viewed by more people.

If they don't want to loose any further advertising revenues , they need to do research on the current market. They need to know the valid reason of the cancellation of advertising contracts local businesses. Whether they are canceling due to decreasing number of viewers or they have found another television station which will advertise at cheaper rate.

It might happen that restoring time to the former level is not enough and the viewers demands more time on local news and weather than it's previous time. Then the company have go with the viewers demand and should increase the time to attract more viewers.

Other television station may broadcast national, local, weather as well as international news which is actually attracting more viewers.

All these evidences are needed to evaluate before restoring the time to weather and local news to its former level.