Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is the most important part of a students life. Universities offer courses ranging from science and technology to arts and literature and everything in between.

Universities of today expect students to take courses which are sometimes not related to the field of interest of the student. Taking different courses may sometimes be indirectly related to the course within the field of interest of the student. Consider for example, learning Electronics in Computer Engineering may not be directly related but it helps us understand the hardware of a computer better and hence they are indirectly linked.

However, the case that unrelated courses in a field may be indirectly related is not always true. Sometimes the unrelated courses may not even be remotely related to the course within the field of interest of the student. Consider for example, Learning the history of India is not even remotely related to the field of Computer Engineering. Adding such unrelated courses ultimately results in wasting of time.

In conclusion, students should be given the freedom to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.