Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The amount of budget is not unlimited, and therefore the government should prioritize where the money should go. This leads people to debate whether the government should focus on the immediate problems or the foreboded future problems. Although it is undeniable that the government should strive to resolve the imminent social issues, I think that the argument that the government should focus only on those issues rather than the possible future problems is too myopic.

Granted, there are a lot of problems that the government should resolve, so it is an utter balderdash that the government should focus on forestalling the future problems. For example, in case of dealing with poverty, there are already a myriad of paupers who suffer from the dire situation, such as a shortage of education, electricity, and even food and water. Although it is necessary to prevent the possible future poverty, saving those people is also an important issue. Although the previous example is limited to poverty, the same logic can be extended to the problems such as public health; many people are suffering from the existing problem, so neglecting those and simply focusing on the future problems is not desirable.

However, simply focusing on the present problem is, as mentioned above, too myopic in that it is not even economic. Take poverty, the very example discussed above, as an example. Although the policy to save the poor people from the currently existing poverty should be make, the policy does not guarantee the overall decrease of those people if the fundamental root of the poverty is not deracinated. And deracination is most efficiently done through the policy focusing on the future problem, in that it evades the possible damage by preventing the possible problem before it actually happens.

In brief, although focusing on the immediate problem is important, the policy on the possible future problem is also important in that it can curtail the possible future expense by preempting the future problem. Therefore, the government should implement the prophylactic policy in conjunction with the policy on the immediate problem.