Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is one of the basic needs of human. Without education, no one can be enlightened and lead a better life. However, this is not free and one must have to spend money in order to get a minimum level of education. The prompt states that college and university education needs to be free to all students and the government should implement this policy. I mostly disagree with the statement for the following three stated cases.

In some cases and fields, education must be free. This provides a huge benefit in these aspects. For instance, we can consider the case of preliminary treatments in the medical field. A people can get a serious wound in a certain accident. He may require primary treatments and medicine immediately before taking him to the hospital. In that case, if one know which primary treatments need to be provided to him to reduce the amount of difficulties, then it would be very helpful. This type of education must be declared free for all and everyone should have knowledge in this field of primary treatments as the knowledge is very critical and it can save a person’s life.

However, in the specialized fields, like Physics or Chemistry, students should not be free of charge. These fields are very emerging and growing very rapidly. There exists several research aspects in these fields which are really very must costly. To set up an experiment to verify a certain theory, one needs to pay for the instruments. To publish research articles and journals, he has to pay. Colleges and Universities provide required instruments to set up the experiments and this is not cheap at all. The authorities have to pay a lot of resources. If this is the case, then adopting the proposal of the prompt won’t be beneficial.

Moreover, in some field which are very much restricted and security oriented, like defense or military issues, money is very much crucial. Most modern military arms cost a huge amount of money. They are sophisticated and very much powerful. The higher defense a system provides the higher the cost associated with it. In this case, if charges are made free for the students who are specializing on a defense related field, it would be very naïve. It will impede growth of the field and no one will be benefited, rather they would have to pay a lot greater than this in near future.

In conclusion, in this earth, nothing is free. Each and every thing has an associated value. If proper value is not paid, one can’t hope for a better service or education. Education must be free in the essential fields which are closely related to human survival and health. But this does not mean that education in all the fields should remain free of charges.