The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Chairty is indeed a good thing which should be encouraged by our society and schools. It is something that should be part of our everyday life but I fail to agree with the University of Wabash considering making community service a requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students.

Some students are already faced with very tough curriculum, putting in their efforts to make sure they graduate with good grades, therefore adding 8 hours of unpaid community service monthly could deter their input towards their academics. Students might still not make it a habit to do chairty after graduation as they might have been doing this reluctanctly becuase its a requirement for graduation and this fails to meet the reason behind the Univeristys' idea of producing well-rounded and charitable members of society in the first place which might have seen as a wasted effort.

Some students might not be intreseted in the different place of work from the list which has been approved by the dean, thereby being lackadasical and causing nuisance at the place of work, this might change the students view to charity and community service hereby flawing the main reason behind the community service which is to make the students better and charitable people.

There are students who carter for their needs and pay for their school fees through different jobs, so the idea of a mandatory community service for 8hours will make them short of 8 hours of paid job in a month which in turn affects the students planned monthly income which in turn can affect his academics, as most students end up working more hours during perids or times scheduled for studying which is the ultimate reason for coming to school.

Although it would be a good idea for students who are still under their parents guidance and sponsorship to experience real -world working experience and also give back to the community but it's not ideal for students especially graduate students who already have enough work experience and have to survive n their planned income to pay their bills.

Though the dean and schools idea appears to be a good one, I strongly recommend the dean to make this an optional exercise and also allow students make suggestions on where they want to do this community service.