The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

There is no objection to point that humans are cutting down forest for infrastructure development which is affecting the biodiversity. The argument here is thet West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built in order to preserve biodiversity of the region and ensure healthy enviroment.

For building roads , several trees have to be cut down which can affect habitant of sanctury. But groundhogs doest not live on trees . So there will not be much threat for groundhogs. There can till be live safely as there are sheltered safely underground. Here survey claims that there were numbered millions. So decrease in number of groundhogs can have different reasons like new species might have added to food chain which is depend omn groudhogs. Else it might be other environmental effect.

Here, Decline in Sea otter is compared with groudhogs which is completely irrelevant as groudhogs are ground habitant and sea otters are water habitant. So decrease in sea otter population might be because increase in water temperature due to global warming or it might be because of inceased water pollution. So comparing it with other sanctury result in vague results.

Also, example given here is of 1970's which could not be applicable on current situation as awareness among the people to save wildlife has now increased. Council can given permission to build the road with proper