The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The argument claims that the autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its border and in order to maintain this the country should send the illegal immigrants back to their country. this argument states that illegal immigrants entering the country are threat to the economy and national identity. The argument has missed lot of vital information to substantiate the certain course of action which make the argument unconvincing.

Firstly, the author assumes that the illegal immigrants movement to the country endangers the economy and national identity. The assumptions fails to acknowledge the pros and cons of illegal immigrants to the country. For eg, on the positive side illegal immigrants sometimes take up the lower level job and contribute to the growth of the economy and on the negative side they can be involved in crime and raise safety concerns among the natives of the country. The data around the types of jobs and how do they contribute in the development of the region and what other social differences are created by these immigrants would be analyzing the situation.

Secondly, the argument doesn't provide any detail about how the country identifies any illegal immigrant if there is no current way to identify the cross border movement. what if the domestic country demand for immigrants is driving increase in the number of immigrants in the country.

Thirdly, the argument nowhere mentions the reasons for the illegal movement of the immigrants. if the argument can provides more details regarding the political and economic conditions which made the immigrants move to different country, then the argument will be better positioned to concur with the conclusion.

In summary, if the argument provides more details on the above-mentioned points then the argument can be made stronger and convincing to the audience.