The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

"In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours.Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The alumni of Linford College wrote a letter to the art department at the college claiming that they recommend all art students to complete an internship with skyway design before graduating, as work experience plays a vital role in a student’s success after graduation, but the author does not make a cogent case to conclude that student would have a successful career after working as an intern in skyway design.

The author described the survey statistics that 90% of the college grads agree on the participation for an internship as it may increase their chances of finding a job after graduation, but there is no surety of getting placed, as there are many factors that play a vital role in getting a job, on of them is work experience as the assumption described by the author but it is not enough to get an agreement of getting a job.

Estimated and concluded by the last year data that only 40% of graduating art students had completed an internship, but there is no evidence made by the author about how many of them got a real job, that stat is not efficient or reliable to conclude on the fact that heading on for internship will lead to a successful carrier.

As the prompt described by the author that the Skyway Design is the perfect fit for students to intern before graduation, for several reasons:-

They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. “Sure” is such a big word to say, there can be a chance that a student doesn’t like the roles provided by the company, or the company doesn’t provide a role needed by the student. There can be enough reasons to be not sure.

Their internship offers flexible working hours and is also nearby Linford city, as stated by the author. The working hours and location can be flexible for students who stay near to the city or in the Linford city but may not be flexible for the students living at distinct locations.

Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 % of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs, but we can’t conclude to the fact that it is the best because there can be several reasons why businesses use their service- it can be the only design company in the city so the businesses may not have the choice or the survey is not conducted all over the city but in just a few areas.

The assumption provided by the author on the argument is not enough to lead to a conclusion that the skyway design is the only company that is best and suited for the students to work for. The survey must have accurate and reliable result to be concluded with proper numbers of students did internship and getting an offer letter of their dream job. There is no disagreement on the assumption that internship and work experience plays a vital role in the further carrier of a student.