The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

First of all, are the objections raised by the non-resident committee members actually foolish? The statement doesn't say anything clearly about what are the objections. Maybe, the non-resident committee members has already seen the results of these kind of decisions in their hometown. From their experience they have concluded that these decisions can cause harmful effects on the Oak City.If this scenerio is true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

Secondly, are the non-residents really cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city? The non-resident committe members spend almost half of their day in the Oak City for work. They continuously work with the people who are resident of the Oak City. This time is quite enough to understand the business and politics of the city. Furthermore, it is possible that as they are non-resident, they can make decisions for the benefit of the whole city. They will not be biased to make such decisions which will only satisfy their needs. For example, a resident committe member may want to build a bicycle lane in his area as he loves cycling. But his area is already a busy area which may not be suitable for a bicyclelane. If either of this scenerio has merit, then conclusion drawn in argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, is it guaranteed that without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work? The non-residents committee members can have valueable experience which can help to make Oak City a better place. For example, if a non-residents committee member is from a famous town such as New York or California, they can help to make Oak City as prosperous as their city. If the committee consist of only residents committee members, the can never know how the most successful cities actually work.If this scenerio is true, then conclusion drawn in argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument is considerably flawed due to it's reliance on several assumption. If the assumptions prove unwarranted the arguement will seriously fall apart.